The Lithuanian Nuclear Security Centre of Excellence has been a member of the International Network for Nuclear Security Training and Support Centres (NSSC) since 2012. This network has been established and maintained by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

What is NSSC Network?

The IAEA Network of Nuclear Security Support Centers (NSSC Network) consists of specialized training institutions / units in 65 countries that, in line with the concept developed by the IAEA, provide professional nuclear security training, as well as technical and scientific support to the competent authorities in their countries and/or regions.

The IAEA works with States to establish national Nuclear Security Support Centres (NSSCs) to strengthen the sustainability of nuclear security. The International Network for Nuclear Security Training and Support Centres (NSSC Network) facilitates cooperation among NSSCs.

NSSC Network functions

NSSCs contribute to sustaining the national nuclear security regime by supporting competent authorities, authorized persons, and other organizations with nuclear security responsibilities.  Main NSSC functions are:

  • Human resource developmentspecifically through the provision of a national nuclear security training programme;
  • Technical support services for nuclear security equipment lifecycle management; and
  • Scientific support services for provision of expertise, analysis, and research and development for nuclear security.

The Centres also foster nuclear security culture and enhance national coordination and collaboration among organizations involved in nuclear security. NSSC Network aims to:

  • Strengthen information sharing;
  • Identify good practices; and
  • Facilitate cooperation and joint activities among States with NSSCs and States interested in establishing centres.

NSSC Network newsletters:

IAEA NSSC Network newsletter / ISSUE7 / April 2021